Also on AOL
- Autos
- Technology
- Lifestyle
- Gaming
- Finance
- Entertainment on AOL
- Lifestyle on AOL
- Sports on AOL
- Travel on AOL
- More on AOL
Featured Galleries
Joystiq
© 2013 AOL Inc. All rights Reserved. Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Trademarks | AOL A-Z HELP | About Our Ads

Reader Comments (Page 1 of 1)
6-26-2009 @ 2:28PM
skogsturken said...
was pretty obvious that his streaming is only to get people to buy his software
Reply
6-26-2009 @ 3:03PM
Mike Schramm said...
What software is that?
6-26-2009 @ 3:12PM
Jon Do said...
It's even been added to Wikipedia by someone on June 10.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-boxing
6-26-2009 @ 3:17PM
Kemikalkadet said...
Wow that's pretty low.. The piece was written by someone called "Centerkore".. his two contributions to Wikipedia? to advertise his software.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special:Contributions/Centerkore
6-26-2009 @ 3:24PM
Mike Schramm said...
All right. This was presented to me as legit, and I watched the stream for about 30 minutes and explored the Justin.tv site before I wrote up this post, and didn't see any links or mentions of any multiboxing software. But I agree it now seems very shady -- I've updated the post with a mention of what you all have found. It seemed to me, and was shared with me, as just a guy streaming his leveling while multiboxing. But I agree that there are probably ulterior motives at work here.
6-26-2009 @ 3:33PM
lightningjynx said...
@ Mike
He is using a program in his videos called Pwnboxer. It seems like a fairly decent software to use, pretty easy to setup and what not. /shrug i don't know any better advertising that he could do for his software.
6-26-2009 @ 3:35PM
Lexi said...
Really?
I've been watching for 30 minutes now on the pre-recorded stuff and I haven't heard him advertise once. The only reason I knew anything about the software was because someone in the chat (not him) mentioned it. I clicked through to his profile to try to find a link to the website and couldn't find anything.
I fail to see how this is just a big infomercial, he's actually giving tips on multi-boxing and such with no mention of the software in the time I've been watching.
6-26-2009 @ 3:39PM
jonnathantroublesome said...
Mike.. I feel that you are too quick to listen to people commenting on your blog who just want something to flame.
He only mentions the software when asked.. he spends ALL the time on the stream either entertaining or answering peoples questions in the channel.
Go flame something else.
6-26-2009 @ 3:42PM
Mike Schramm said...
I hear what you're saying, Jonnathan, and obviously I didn't see any blatant advertising on the stream (or else I wouldn't have posted it here). Nevertheless, there's a bias here that I didn't know, and that I didn't indicate in the post. The update makes that clear, I think -- you can watch the stream or not, just know that the guy behind it has a vested interest in selling software. Issue over.
6-26-2009 @ 6:51PM
Qot said...
To be honest, he's advertised WoW.com more than anything else.
6-26-2009 @ 9:54PM
Ryan said...
He/Someone associated with the stream also created an account on another forum strictly to advertise this stream which is frowned on with almost any community. There are obviously monetary reasons for wanting to get the word out about some dudes mutiboxing stream through these outlets.
6-26-2009 @ 10:14PM
EZ said...
he designed his own software, and he mentions it maybe 1 time in a couple hours of playing, and thats 'shady'?
Pretty much every schramm article i read comes across like an infomercial. i have to sigh at the update and i'll even throw in a /facepalm for good measure.
his stream is entertaining, and he is engaging with his audience through the chat program. I don't see any evidence of some dark nebulous ulterior motives.