New Battle.net site is live
The URL may include the word "beta," but the new Battle.net site is live and seems to be fully functional. Some changes we've noticed at first glance are:
We don't know as of yet when the old Battle.net site will be phased out, but we'll keep you posted.
- Complete change to the interface and navigation.
- You can check a box to stay logged in.
- It gives the status of their franchises.
We don't know as of yet when the old Battle.net site will be phased out, but we'll keep you posted.
Filed under: Blizzard, News items
Patch 5.3 interview with Ghostcrawler
Mystery of the Unborn Val'kyr
The latest patch 5.3 news
All of the latest Mists of Pandaria news






Reader Comments (Page 3 of 4)
Nathan Jul 15th 2010 9:57PM
Not that you're probably going to go to the Facebook page if you are worried about typing in the battle.net page....but here is the Warcraft Facebook page that has the link that shows the beta battle.net. :)
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/Warcraft
Transit Jul 15th 2010 2:49PM
Not that I don't trust you guys. But where can I find an official announcement about this?
I went to the blizzard site, the warcraft site, and the forums and I see no link to this.
I even logged onto the old battle net site to see if there was a mention there.
I am pretty concerned about safety and I just want to be absolutely sure this is not some hacker posing as blizzard.
xel Jul 15th 2010 9:21PM
read this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subdomain
Damian Jul 15th 2010 3:01PM
One thing it doesn't seem to have is my Beta access.
Earthseer Jul 15th 2010 3:05PM
Both the offical page and the beta resolve to same ip range, it's safer then sex with you gf!
Netherscourge Jul 15th 2010 3:18PM
LOL - what if it IS a hacking site and everyone logging in is giving away their password to them?
//www.battle.net IS the current official site. there's NO mention of hte beta site anywhere except here on wow.com.
Clicking on some //beta-us.battle.net site doesn't guarantee it's legit or not. (ok, chances are it IS legit, but still - people are way too willing to punch user/password into these beta sites.)
Also - there's no guarantee that a beta site has the same security features implemented as the official sites yet.
With all the keylogging going on these days, I wouldn't punch anything into a beta site.
Shrike Jul 15th 2010 3:28PM
"LOL - what if it IS a hacking site and everyone logging in is giving away their password to them?"
It would take hackers sophisticated enough to have already hacked Blizzard's domain administration, since beta-us. is either a subdomain or CNAME of battle.net, owned and operated by Blizzard.
"Also - there's no guarantee that a beta site has the same security features implemented as the official sites yet."
Clicking on the login button gives you a Secure (https://) connection.
Damian Jul 15th 2010 3:36PM
"Clicking on some //beta-us.battle.net site doesn't guarantee it's legit or not."
Yes it does (well, typing it in does). Anything.battle.net is controlled by Blizzard. That's simply how DNS works. For it to be compromised, us.battle.net, eu.battle.net and any other "known safe" site would also be compromised at that point.
Netherscourge Jul 15th 2010 3:38PM
I'm sure _____.battle.net IS a legit Blizzard domain/site.
However, as I said, these days, ANYTHING is possible with some devious masking.
Also - https doesn't mean jack squat if the site you're logging into is hacked to begin with. People using outdated browsers without updates might send data to a https site with bogus Certificates and still get their data stolen.
And YES - I do have a Tin foil hat and I'm wearing it right now so you can'r read my mind or steal my stuff. It's been working for over 5 years now. Better the na Authenticator IMO.
j/k
Drakkenfyre Jul 15th 2010 4:07PM
Slightly off-topic, but when keyloggers were rampant one time on the forums, I loved the idiots who jumped on "keylogger!" on every URL. No matter what it was. I saw a guy claim "keylogger!" to someone who posted worldofwarcraft.com/something.
Shrike Jul 15th 2010 3:26PM
People, it would take hacking of the entire DNS network to maliciously acquire information from people typing in http://[anything].battle.net/ . That's just how DNS works, everything before the final domain.tld is owned and operated by the owners or domain administrators of that domain.tld.
That aside, I'm not a fan of the beta site. The "games to buy" option right in the game list is a little annoying, and it doesn't include my Cataclysm beta account in the My Games list.
TR Jul 15th 2010 6:20PM
And of course that's NEVER happened. The site definitely seems to be legit since the host IP resides in Blizzard's net block. In any case, Blizzard sometimes doesn't update their news items for 24 to 48 hours after word-of-mouth so I'm not all that worried about it.
Transit Jul 15th 2010 3:26PM
Ok I think I found a official link!
Its on the EU forums.
http://forums.wow-europe.com/thread.html?topicId=14129644211
The blue post and link is at #15.
Transit Jul 15th 2010 3:28PM
Ok its for the european version. But at least its a confirmation that it exists.
Sorry about that. :-/
scherbaddie Jul 15th 2010 7:14PM
I'm suspicious of your //forums.wow-europe.com link.
How can I be sure this is an official blizzard site? I need to see an official blizzard link to this website.
I am pretty concerned about safety and I just want to be absolutely sure this is not some hacker posing as blizzard.
Transit Jul 15th 2010 7:20PM
@scherbaddie
Thats cool.
You can go onto Warcraft site in Europe and do a blue tracker thing if you need to. But at least now you know there is a place to go in general to find the link. :-)
I am glad you wish to have a safe account as well.
jasonablackburn Jul 15th 2010 3:27PM
My question is, why are Warcraft 3 and Diablo still $19.99 as well as each expansion still being $19.99?? Especially for digital downloads... what a ripoff
Drakkenfyre Jul 15th 2010 3:41PM
People are still buying them?
Diablo 1 and the original StarCraft is $10 at retail all the time. But they stayed at $20 on Blizzard's store.
Pocket Jul 15th 2010 3:52PM
*Cough* If you look at WorldofWarcraft.com they have an announcement about the Blizzcon Dinner Ticket opt-in... It links directly from that post to the new beta-battlenet... It's legit.
Gordal Jul 15th 2010 4:31PM
Best part:
You can pre-download the SC2 client if you were planning on buying it digitally in advance. None of that "buy the game then wait several freaking hours for it to download" malarkey.