Skip to Content

WoW Insider has the latest on the Mists of Pandaria!

World of Warcraft: Cataclysm is WoW's third expansion. Azeroth's face is forever changed in a massive attack of mythical proportions, and the world as we know it will never be the same. The level cap has been increased to 85, and WoW Insider will be taking you every step of the way -- no worgen is too big, no goblin too slimy. We've got it all!

Stay right here for the very latest Cataclysm news, plenty of eye candy from our Cataclysm screenshot gallery, and a whole host of meaty details and in-depth analysis on every angle of the game.

Latest Cataclysm news

Table of contents

What is World of Warcraft: Cataclysm?

  • What is Cataclysm?
  • Release date Dec. 7, 2010
  • Level cap Raised to 85
  • New races Worgen (Alliance), Goblin (Horde)
  • New zones Hyjal, Vashj'ir, Deepholm, Uldum, Twilight Highlands
  • Revamped zones Nearly everything in Azeroth
  • New secondary profession Archaeology
  • New mastery stat added
  • Talent tree overhaul
  • Raid progression refined
  • New guild perks and achievements
  • Inscription overhauled
  • Rated battlegrounds added
  • Reforging added

For information on game changes from patch 4.0.6 (February 2011), please visit WoW Insider's Guide to Patch 4.0.6.

Strategy Guides: 5-man dungeons

Strategy Guides: Cataclysm raids

Class and spec update

  • Talent trees are completely redesigned. New 31-point talent trees replace the old 51-point trees. Now, you'll choose a talent specialization at level 10 and work your way up through a single tree for many levels.
  • Spell ranks are gone. You only have to learn a spell once (maybe at a different level than pre-Cataclysm), and they'll automatically "level up" along with you.
  • Mastery has been implemented.
  • Existing item stats and their values have been overhauled. Reforging helps you change unwanted stats on your gear into something more desirable.

WoW Insider's Cataclysm 101 guides

Play your best as a new max-level player of any class and spec with our ongoing series of 101 basics for level 85.

Endgame gear guides

Weekly analysis for every class and spec

Death knights  Blood / Frost / Unholy
Druids  Balance / Feral DPS / Feral tanking / Restoration
Hunters  Beast mastery / Marksmanship / Survival
Mages  Arcane / Fire / Frost
Paladins  Holy / Protection / Retribution
Priests  Discipline / Holy / Shadow
Rogues  Assassination / Combat / Subtlety
Shaman  Elemental / Enhancement / Restoration
Warlocks  Affliction / Demonology / Destruction
Warriors  Arms / Fury / Protection

All about Cataclysm

Profession changes


New races

Zones and maps

Around Azeroth

Around Azeroth

Featured Galleries

It came from the Blog: Occupy Orgrimmar
Midsummer Flamefest 2013
Running of the Orphans 2013
World of Warcraft Tattoos
HearthStone Sample Cards
HearthStone Concept Art
It came from the Blog: Lunar Lunacy 2013
Art of Blizzard Gallery Opening